Wow, it’s been a few days since I’ve last updated. The energy going round has seemed to be crazy – between the lunar energy of the eclipse, the Cardinal Grand Cross (see Astrostyle’s excellent explanation here) and add the holiday craziness and it seems that it’s been too easy to let things slip. I was talking to my human guide today, and she told me I needed to balance my root chakra – I wasn’t where I needed to be, and realignment was needed.

This got me thinking – some people may have heard about chakras, but not know what they are. Luckily, the same guide gifted me an amazing book on chakras by an author called ThunderBeat (Chakra Journey – Awakening the Chakras). This is a very accessible book, informative and easy to understand. I’m certainly not any kind of expert on it, however I’d like to at least provide a basic guide to begin understanding. I’ve attempted to include some information, but I would encourage that you either buy this book or another one – there is certainly a lot more information to be gleaned, however I won’t share everything in the book out of respect to the author.

Chakra is derived from Sanskrit, meaning “wheel”, “spinning wheel” or “flower”. There are seven points where they sit along our spines, drawing in energy from the outside world and distributing it throughout our body, as well as holding the stored energy of emotions and experiences.


Root Chakra
Sacral Chakra
Solar Plexus
Heart Chakra
Throat Chakra
Third Eye Chakra
Crown Chakra

To expand on these areas:
Root Chakra: Located at the base of the spine, this chakra functions to ground, provide stability and ensure survival. Its colour is Red, and it’s an earth element.

Sacral Chakra: This chakra is located in the area of the abdomen, and governs emotions, sense of self worth and confidence in your creativity. This chakra is Orange, and it’s associated with the water element.

Moving up the spine, the next chakra is the Solar Plexus. This chakra is located below the breastbone and behind the stomach, and rules personal power, metabolism and will. The Solar Plexus chakra is Yellow

Following on, the next chakra is the Heart. This chakra is Green, and is the middle chakra in the seven overall – in the chest area, it governs the lungs, heart, lymph glands and immune system. The Heart Chakra governs love and compassion, and its element is air.

The Throat chakra is next. Located in the throat, it governs the neck, jaw, mouth, thyroid and throat. At a personal level, I find that if I’m holding back from saying something that needs to be said, my throat will feel constricted or blocked. This chakra is coloured Blue. The element that relates to the Throat chakra is Sound.

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye. Coloured in Indigo, this chakra is located in the centre of your head, behind the forhead and between the eyes. This chakra regulates the nose, pituitary gland, eyes and ears. The third eye is the point where psychic abilities and higher intuition are located.

Finally, the last chakra is the Crown. This chakra is Purple. Located at the crown of the head, this chakra relates to the upper brain, pineal gland and hair. It connects us to the greater world beyond – the dimensions beyond our own.

Each chakra can be healed with specific gems and therapies such as sound, acupuncture and meditation (among other therapies). As my guide identified the need to heal my root chakra, I looked online for a meditation or sound therapy to use. I was able to find one easily enough, and this contained Tibetan Singing Bowls. This was my first exposure to them (other than seeing them in shops) and my mind was quickly blown. There was something so soothing, yet otherworldly about them and my instant reaction was to feel almost like I had climbed out of myself – like I was able to sit up and watch myself laying on the floor.

This is certainly something that I will do again, and if it has piqued your interest I can recommend ThunderBeat’s book. As mentioned, there is a great deal more information that is in the book itself. If you’ve had any experience with chakra cleansing or healing, I’d love to hear it!